CCHIT Program To Help Hospitals Pass EHR Certification - InformationWeek
Healthcare // Electronic Health Records
05:48 PM
Moving UEBA Beyond the Ground Floor
Sep 20, 2017
This webinar will provide the details you need about UEBA so you can make the decisions on how bes ...Read More>>

CCHIT Program To Help Hospitals Pass EHR Certification

The Certification Commission for Health Information Technology certification program targets hospitals with legacy, customized or self-developed Electronic Health Record systems.

The Certification Commission for Health Information Technology (CCHIT) is launching a new EHR certification program for hospitals that have uncertified legacy software, customized commercial products or self-developed EHR systems. "The EHR Alternative Certification for Hospitals," or EACH program, is an ONC-ATCB 2011/2012 certification for installed hospital EHR technology.

The program contains three phases, all of which are designed to give applicants the greatest possible chance of passing the actual test, according to CCHIT. In fact, applicants are only allowed to undergo the final inspection if they have gone through the first two phases of the program.

In the first phase, called "Preparation," applicants attend an online program orientation, are introduced to the EACH online community of hospitals, and form the team that will help carry out their self assessment.

"We take you through the requirements of certification and guide you as to whether you need to think about self certification," said Patricia Becker, EACH product manager and CCHIT Commissioner. "After that, you have capability of participating in online communities to exchange information. These communities will also be staffed by CCHIT to answer questions."

In the second phase, "Readiness," the online self-assessment is carried out. In that phase, the applicant is provided with a "learning program" to help them perform a gap analysis. This phase also offers a toolkit that includes test scripts and an interoperability guide. The Readiness phase helps ensure that "when you come for certification, you are well prepared to pass the actual test," said Becker. In fact, "We ask you to test each module at least twice so you are ready for inspection."

The third phase of the program is when the actual inspection takes place, which is web-based. Applicants are tested against ONC criteria using NIST-established procedures. Same-day retests are also offered. If an applicant passes, the results are reported to ONC to be listed on the CHPL website, along with being posted on CCHIT's site.

1 of 2
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
How Enterprises Are Attacking the IT Security Enterprise
How Enterprises Are Attacking the IT Security Enterprise
To learn more about what organizations are doing to tackle attacks and threats we surveyed a group of 300 IT and infosec professionals to find out what their biggest IT security challenges are and what they're doing to defend against today's threats. Download the report to see what they're saying.
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
White Papers
Current Issue
IT Strategies to Conquer the Cloud
Chances are your organization is adopting cloud computing in one way or another -- or in multiple ways. Understanding the skills you need and how cloud affects IT operations and networking will help you adapt.
Twitter Feed
Sponsored Live Streaming Video
Everything You've Been Told About Mobility Is Wrong
Attend this video symposium with Sean Wisdom, Global Director of Mobility Solutions, and learn about how you can harness powerful new products to mobilize your business potential.
Flash Poll