Mobile // Mobile Devices
Commentary
10/17/2013
11:21 AM
Eric Zeman
Eric Zeman
Commentary
Connect Directly
RSS
E-Mail
50%
50%
Repost This

Why I Returned My iPhone 5s

The iPhone 5s is a fine smartphone -- but it's not much different from the iPhone 5.

iPhone 5c, 5s: 10 Smart Design Choices
iPhone 5c, 5s: 10 Smart Design Choices
(click image for larger view)
After using the iPhone 5s for 25 days, I returned it to Apple. Apple graciously accepted the return with no trouble, as I was just within the 30-day limit. I liked the iPhone 5s, but I had several reasons for sending it back.

I recently described what it was like to live with the iPhone 5s for a week. Those observations haven't changed. I stand by all those statements.

Some background: I paid full price for the iPhone 5s because I didn't want to extend my contract. That means I spent more than $900 on the device including Apple Care and an upgrade to the 32-GB model. That's a lot of money. I already own an iPhone 5, which I purchased last year. The iPhone 5 runs iOS 7, which is the same operating system on the 5s.

The biggest reason I returned the iPhone 5s is because it didn't offer a different experience from the iPhone 5. Aside from the Touch ID fingerprint sensor, there was no obvious change in how the device performed. Sure, the 5s has a slightly better camera and faster processor, but the difference in performance is hardly noticeable. If you look at it from this angle, I spent $900 to get a fingerprint sensor. Let me tell you something: I don't need a fingerprint sensor on my smartphone. At least, not right now.

[ More iPhone shopping advice: 5 Questions To Ask Before Buying A New iPhone. ]

Also, the iPhone 5 offers several things the 5s does not. For starters, it is free of bugs. iOS 7 runs flawlessly on the iPhone 5. iOS 7 on the 5s was a bug-ridden mess. Apps crashed constantly, and the 5s was prone to random reboots. Reboots are rather inconvenient when you're speaking to someone on the phone. Speaking of the phone, the call quality on the iPhone 5 is slightly better than on the 5s. It has a warmer sound that I prefer over the 5s.

Another gripe I have is Apple's entire concept of keeping the same design for its smartphones for two years. The 5s is identical to the iPhone 5 in size, shape and basic appearance, save for the color. The iPhone 4 and 4S were identical, as were the iPhone 3G and 3GS. I find this approach to be lazy. Don't get me wrong -- I fully appreciate how much work goes into designing smartphones and all the engineering needed to make everything fit into such a tiny space. One look at Apple's competitors, however, and it's hard for me to digest Apple's strategy.

Samsung brings dozens of new smartphones to the market each year, all of which have their own design. Samsung makes iterative updates to its products too, but when you look at the progression of hardware such as the Galaxy Note, Note 2 and Note 3, you see marked improvements year over year. Same with the GS4 and other Samsung devices. The same can be said of LG, Motorola, Nokia, HTC and other phone makers.

Surely Apple could create a unique phone each year. It simply chooses not to. I understand its thinking and strategy here, but as a consumer and as a tech journalist, I want to see Apple do more.

If I am going to pay between $500 and $900 for a smartphone each year, I want it to be different from the one I had before. With the iPhone 5s, there simply isn't enough of a difference for it to be worth the money. If you're upgrading from an iPhone 4s, it's a big step up. If you're coming from an iPhone 5, it's more of the same. If Apple decides to make an iPhone with a bigger screen or some other major alteration to the hardware, then perhaps I'll buy it and stick with it. From now on, however, I plan to skip Apple's "S" years.

Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Comments
Threaded  |  Newest First  |  Oldest First
mdg1019
50%
50%
mdg1019,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 2:44:42 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Try something like the Galaxy S4 if you want something better. Android phones are so far beyond anything Apple has to offer it's no longer even funny. Plus, iOS 7 is horrible. I have nothing against a flat UI, but Apple's designers should all be fired for this very weak attempt to copy other OSes.
anon2910051689
50%
50%
anon2910051689,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 3:05:36 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
If you don't mind not having NFC (receive) The CA-201L (japanese version) is the best android device you can buy. The GSM radio will still work in the USA with full 3G.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:49:20 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Totally agree, the japanese version of the 4G LTE Commando is simply AWESOME! I'm glad someone finally brought it up.
Next in line in the states would be the HTC One TMobile version.
The TMobile version has full IRDA turned on both RX and TX.
Remote learning capabilities work fantastic.
RobertT901
50%
50%
RobertT901,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:36:01 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
IOS7 horrible? I have upgraded all the devices in my home and everyone is using them without a single problem; from the youngest to the oldest (me). And I am talking about 6 iPhones and 5 iPads. You seriously think Apple is copying other OSes? Have you seen what Samsung phones look like before iPhones came into the market? And looking at Samsung phones today did you notice anything at all? Have you any idea how many tablets came into the market and die shortly after BEFORE iPads came into the market? Without Apple's innovation you think Samsung can come out with that junk in your hands? To advice others on which is better you'd better be better informed and be smarter than the ones you give advice to. On both counts you fail.
RockH202
50%
50%
RockH202,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:08:32 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Hey there fanboi, we don't need your crazy negative comments here. The article is well written and if you take the time to look around on google you'll see there are tons of problems with the new OS running on the 5s. I won't even comment on how you don't think Apple is copying, that's a complete joke, get with the times. Also, go check out the numbers...Apple is getting hammered http://www.idc.com/getdoc.jsp?... As for who came out with the device first, we all know how completely awesome that Apple Newton was right? Before you go blasting someone for an opinion, you should do your own homework. Also, I love that you say Samsung makes junk being that a lot of the hardware in your precious is from Samsung, also a lot of the hardware in your iMac and Macbook is from Intel. So in conclusion, Apple makes pretty good devices from other people's hardware and made a smart decision to use Unix as the backbone of their OS, Unix by the way is not an Apple product. Few people know who Dennis Ritchie is, check it out...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_R... Maybe in the future you could include some useful info in your comments so we don't all see you as a troll.
CodyW052
50%
50%
CodyW052,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:06:12 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
you sound like one of the cool kids that hate apple... (before you rush to a cool-kid comment, I use Android)
kdiuedyekdi
50%
50%
kdiuedyekdi,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/22/2013 | 11:55:45 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Please don't forget about Ken Thompson who is perhaps more directly responsible for the development of UNIX. Dennis Ritchie developed the C programming language which is the system programming language of the OS http://cm.bell-labs.com/who/dm....
wht
50%
50%
wht,
User Rank: Strategist
10/23/2013 | 5:26:12 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Your household must have money to burn with all those (11 !!!) Apple devices. Very few can afford that much stuff.
Flyguy2929
50%
50%
Flyguy2929,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 5:43:27 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Please keep on topic and not go down a Samsung rabbit hole. You have not used or lived with iOS7 and are trying to justify your S4 buying decision. Fine,I love my Note 3, but respect my company issued 5s. I would take a larger screen over a 4"any day of the week, but I would not arbitrarily call a a Note "so far beyond anything Apple has to offer" even though I am more qualified than you to make an assessment. I have heard some call the Nokia 1020 the equivalent to the elixir of youth since they value the camera.

Now on topic - The fingerprint scanner is very good, but I agree that it is the only significant user experience upgrade over the 5. The audio output is also waaaaay better on the 5s for those who listen to a lot of music (me). I take a lot of pictures and prefer the 5s over the 5 by leaps and bounds and think it is still better overall next to my Note. Obviously, the reviewer here isn't a piura taking fellow since he didn't score it as important to his personal user experience.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 7:40:07 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The stupid is strong with this one.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 10:29:04 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Blackhatt are the random personal attacks really necessary? Its just a phone.
hippodon
50%
50%
hippodon,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 2:52:15 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Face it, Eric bought the iPhone 5s to write this article with full intention of returning it during the 30-day return window. Cheap way to do a review. And the review is lame - the speed increase from the A7 chip is both noticeable and significant, the "slight" improvement in the camera puts it far ahead of anything out there right now. I have not seen any iOS 7 issues with my iPhone 5s. Samsung brings out dozens of designs all of which use stolen elements of Apple's patented software. There is no creativity there.

I'd give this review an D-
mdg1019
50%
50%
mdg1019,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 3:54:44 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
There is absolutely nothing creative about iOS7, it's just a very poorly implemented rip off of other flat UIs that have been out there for quite some time now.
CLAFOUNTAIN100
50%
50%
CLAFOUNTAIN100,
User Rank: Strategist
10/19/2013 | 6:15:16 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Wait, man. Is that really all you got out of it? Eric said he had a iPhone 5, and the iPhone 5S was faster, didn't crash, because the iPhone 5 was better tested. As a result, it wasn't worth the $950, so he kept his old phone.

Am I missing something else?
XiroMisho
50%
50%
XiroMisho,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:35:10 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
So the iPhone made a software implementation that follows your eyes and keeps the screen on, without touching, if it sees you reading it? Also the page moves down when your eyes glance to the bottom of the page? Because that's what came to the SG4 last year, the software was also put into the SG3 upon release (though that doesn't scroll with eye movement). Also does the iPhone allow the sharing of Pictures, Video, and other media by pressing two buttons, and tapping the back of the phone to another phone to send that data?

Nothing innovative, you don't use those devices, therefore you don't know what innovation is, since you have an Apple.

Finger print reader? There are more useless features, but I cannot think of one atm. Rule for any hardware security: Once it is physically in the hands of someone that isn't you, the data is compromised. I'm sure someone will circumvent the fingerprint reader within an hour of having it in their hands. In the mean time I can unlock my phone by looking at it. That's another feature the SG4 has: I can stare at my phone, and it will unlock for me, as it has facial recognition.

Now if the iPhone has those three features: Eye tracking to enable the screen on, eye tracking to scroll the screen, and facial recognition for screen unlocking, then by all means tell me I'm wrong.

If not, perhaps yu can think twice before saying Samsung doesn't innovate.
Aroper-VEC
50%
50%
Aroper-VEC,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 4:28:06 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Those are cool features and that's just a matter of software code, but how long does your battery last with those features enabled? I know a lot of people with S4 and, while they love those features, they've all noticed that it's a huge drain on battery life. An active screensaver is cool, but also taxes the battery. Some features are nice, but sacrifice battery longevity because of the extra CPU cycles and memory refreshes to keep the content active or to process the incoming data.

I am curious about how well the facial recognition and eye tracking features work in low to no-light environments. I haven't seen a smartphone yet that had enough ambient light emanating from the screen to allow the camera to pick up the imagery.

Please be aware that I am only making some comparisons and contrasts here. Every phone is different, but it's not "fair" to compare oranges with bananas. While it's easy to point something another manufacturer has done that is different and call it innovation, if that innovation comprises other more important features then it's not really much of an innovation. We typically refer to those features as "bells and whistles" - they look flashy and sound real nice but have no practical value.
anon2910051689
50%
50%
anon2910051689,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 2:53:14 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Excellent commentary eric. Thank you for posting this.
Now maybe apple will wake up and see they can't treat us like cattle and actual fix the problems plaguing their new "wunderphone".

For starters they should have never allowed the TouchID sensor to be able to unlock the device. TouchID should have been used for nefarious data only directly linked to parts of notification center.
As the user depresses their fingerprint longer, more nefarious data should appear.

Data that in respect is only understandable by the user them-self.
Instead apple decided to go against this approach. Apple does NOT innovate.
It excavates.

More than HALF of the new features on the 5s can be done with tweaks if you are jailbroken. More than HALF of the other new features on the 5s are completely bug ridden. This is something I would expect from microsoft. Not apple.

Apple: Its time to wake up and smell the sauce.
XiroMisho
50%
50%
XiroMisho,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:39:27 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
uh.. the first half of you post sounds a whole lot like insane ramblings... 'more nefarious data' - I'm a wee bit confused by what you're getting at.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:01:10 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I think he meant nefarious data as in something that only the user can recognize and understand. For instance much like what widgets do on android homescreens. A good example would be the waze widget. It will tell you how long it takes you to get to work or home from your current position. A prying eye however would not actually see the actual address for home and work. This could probably also be done much like how moto x uses alerts and also using benign data as well. All without ever unlocking the phone giving the user more peace of mind. And in some ways i can actually agree with all of that.
Getting apple to actually implement something like that however would probably be far from reality.

At this point seeing they have already pretty much tied down the touchid system to only unlocking the phone and apples own payment system. Unfortunately.

edit: obviously the waze widget is just one example. many more things could probably go along with that. weather, weather for the route you're taking and destination, navigation assistance etc etc etc..
I also like the idea of using the length of time your finger is depressed on the sensor as a type of security measure. THAT is something i never thought of. And i could even envision a nice gui for that as well. Again, much like moto x's design.
Hell you could probably even assign different fingers to do different things. eg: send a sms to the wife (or loved one ;) ) letting them know you will be late using your ring finger.
Things like that.
VassilisD393
50%
50%
VassilisD393,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 3:04:59 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
First of all, the "Why-I-returned-the-popular device of the time" is a very safe kind of articles, that a new kid (or writer, will not say journalist, no) on the blog should try just to get the attention (and clicks) he needs. Let's forget that for a sec.

Now, this guy's opinion is so full of the usual cliches, it doesn't make any sense to reply in detail. I will just ask this: Did your iphone 5S really reboot while on a call as you imply? Yes or No? And if yes, can you report on how you did it? The world is listening..

All the other bull stuff, it's like he doesn't even get the essentials about smartphone evolution. iPhone 5S is the most future-proof phone ever, is chock full of technology that will serve the user for iOS versions and many apps to come, and we are all sure this guy will buy it again, after this article is about a week old.

At least, he could write about returning iphone 5C, and then many people would agree with him, because 5C is far inferior than iphone 5 and the best advice around is to get yourself a nice new iphone 5, while stock lasts. But no, nobody dares come up with such a legit issue. This article really makes Apple a favour..
anon2910051689
50%
50%
anon2910051689,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 3:08:00 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Reboots in ANY respect is something we expect from microsoft NOT from apple. Things like a wonky level sensor is ALSO something you would expect from bug ridden platform like windows NOT from i0S!

ps: steve jobs is turning in his grave.
PeterD332
50%
50%
PeterD332,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 12:40:54 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
All phones have rebooted unexpectedly from time to time.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 6:09:54 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Don't know about you peter but before the iPhone 5 i've never had a single iphone reboot on me once in 4 years of using them. Not a SINGLE solitary time.
Every once in a great while ive had a app close on me but never ever has a idevice reboot unexpectedly. That is.. until now.
nfuka
50%
50%
nfuka,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:11:00 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
While I concede your point about upgrading features on iPhones, I also think that Apple is much more concerned about user experience than are most tech companies. One could argue that Apple is obsessed with this. And this is perhaps one of the reasons that Apple has such a loyal following. As someone who purchased a Galaxy S4 only to find that the air gestures work maybe 30% of the time, I felt duped by Samsung. I noticed that you did not mention that the fingerprint scanner on your iPhone 5s didn't work, you simply stated that you felt it was unnecessary at this point in time. (and this is up for debate) Apple at least releases features that work the way they are advertised (ok, Apple Maps not withstanding). Samsung seems more interested in releasing features first, whether they work or whether they do not - and this has caused me to question whether I will buy another Samsung phone in the future.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:43:33 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
nfuka: You just proved his own point.

And its not JUST maps that have issues. Apple is becoming more and more like microsloth everyday. And its just sad.
nfuka
50%
50%
nfuka,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 5:10:48 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Having used Android, Windows, Mac OS, iOS, I would argue that each has their own strengths and weaknesses. But if you are going to compare Windows to either Mac OS/iOS or Android, there is no comparison. Android crashes, freezes, and suffers from the usual other glitches one might associate with Windows MUCH more often than Apple operating systems do. This is not to say that Mac OS and iOS are free from frustration, but I find myself troubleshooting problems with my Apple devices MUCH less often than I do my Android and Windows computers/devices. And good luck getting assistance with Android or Windows. (ever try contacting Google or Microsoft, or talk with the clueless Verizon reps? Samsung is not much better, but at least they have some knowledgeable people. Apple excels in customer service; I think few people would disagree with this). That said, I like that I can add a custom ROM to my Android phones. But when a product just does not work, customization is meaningless (Samsung, I'm looking at you). Lastly, I'm not sure how I proved the author's point in my original post, but you are entitled to your opinion. If you are assuming that the Apple Maps fiasco proves the author's points, I could give you a few features that do not work as advertised on my GS4. I can use Google Maps on my iPhone. I have no choice but to suffer with the crappy features that fail to work more often than not on my GS4. I just wish that Samsung would not release features/phones that do not work as advertised, just as I do not like when Apple releases features/phones that do not work as advertised. But it's not as though Apple has cornered the market on this by any means.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 5:36:37 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Priceless. A apple lover who owns a GS4
RobertT901
50%
50%
RobertT901,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:13:49 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Why I will be buying and keeping the iPhone 5S. 1: it still fits my hands, 2: it still has that great retina display, 3: it is still very well made, 4: it still fits my pocket, 5: when I am on the phone I still look professional, 6: I will still be able to use it effectively.
I am glad the writer Eric returned the 5S. He is not worthy of the Apple brand. All of us knows what the 5S will be like even before we buy. But to return it because it is not different enough from 5 is an excuse only Eric can come up with and still think it is a good reason. You want different go get a Samsung. It is unethical to take advantage of a company's return policy and misuse it by writing such a silly article. You make products costlier for other regular consumers when you make it costlier for companies to operate by doing what you did. Lack of substance and common sense.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:45:12 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Why is everyone bringing up samdung?
You do know there are other cell phone manufacturers that come out with android phones right?

Do yourself a favor checkout the CA-201L (japanese version). Set the rom to english. I bet you will be impressed.
CodyW052
50%
50%
CodyW052,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:10:45 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
because the cool kids always bring it up when ever apple is mentioned anywhere on the net.
WillS111
50%
50%
WillS111,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 11:05:59 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Seriously, not worthy of the Apple Brand?? You have obviously been drinking the cool aid. That you could say that in a public forum establishes your credibility at ZERO. The Apple brand would earn me as a customer if they could deliver a good product at a reasonable product. But self delusion probably helps you justify for overpaying for a mediocre product. As Buggs Bunny would say "what a Macaroon"!!
Frank_Truth
50%
50%
Frank_Truth,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:48:24 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Hi Tim Cook (aka Robert T901),

How are you doing? Imagine meeting you here. Not every iPhone owner is as pleased with your latest iPhone as you are!

michael
JasonH418
50%
50%
JasonH418,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:36:25 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The iphone is overpriced to begin with hmm lets see
dual core vs quad core
1 gig of ram vs 2 or 3 gigs of ram
small screen vs 4 to 5+ inch screen

no brainer
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 5:46:33 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Jason while i agree with you that the device is a little overpriced you're missing the point and also have a moot argument.
You need to look at the specs deeper.
I still prefer android however.
Voting you up but you need to sharpen your skiiiilz :P
rhoffman037
50%
50%
rhoffman037,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 4:29:04 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Well...the usual numbers game. Objective benchmarks have the 5S smoking every other smartphone of any configuration. Not to say that the 5S is an ideal phone, just that, at the moment, it's the fastest, number games aside.
WilliamD914
50%
50%
WilliamD914,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 4:47:11 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
"Why I Returned My iPhone 5s"

to get attention, of course.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 7:37:27 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Bingo, you hit the nail on the head. What qualifies as journalism today is truly very sad.
Flyguy2929
50%
50%
Flyguy2929,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 5:38:24 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Very valid point. From an experience, yes, the fingerprint scanner is the only significant difference. For me, I have a company issued 5s from which I was upgraded from the 5. The audio is significantly improved and I listen to a lot of music (the 4s is still king). In addition some of the more intensive apps load much faster, but not so much to add significant value over the 5. Apps crash more often and the iPhone music player has issued in playlist editing.

I agree that the 5s is probably not worth upgrading this time around for iPhone 5 users, but for iPhone 4/4s and new users, the value is good and a much better value over the 5c for $100 more.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 6:25:13 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The fact of the matter is no one is looking at the device deeply enough to see that there are even more defects with the hardware than with the software itself.

Already we are seeing these affect....

Problems with:

Level sensor
Screen calibration issues
THX Enhancements that have been removed

This only. scratches. the. surface.!

I am actually disappointed with this review in a way. While the author does make some valid points he doesn't even scratch the surface with these issues.

ps: Interestingly enough the iPhone 5 (not the 5s/5c) had none of these problems.
Apple have also not yet added APT - X. Something that most android devices did over 2 years ago.
Cmon apple. WE KNOW YOU CAN DO BETTER!
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 7:34:18 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Eric are you really that much of a dumbass? This reeks of a trumped up article to get hits. You obviously purchased an iPhone 5s with every intention of returning it. You posted an article on Sept 14th where you stated "Jumping from the iPhone 5 to the 5c or 5s doesn't make too much sense" (http://www.informationweek.com...

So after posting that article we're supposed to believe that just a few days later you went ahead and purchased an iPhone5s???

You sir are a tool and a hit whore.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 7:44:23 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
wtf?
Scripter23
50%
50%
Scripter23,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 8:34:09 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Generally, people don't upgrade from just one generation back so your experience is not unusual. Curious that you don't appreciate the camera much. Other reviewers have raved about it.
YaarovS134
50%
50%
YaarovS134,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 10:22:34 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Alright!!!
I've just learned how to blog about a popular gadget that will cost me nothing.
1. Buy a popular gadget from a reputable retailer that has easy return policy.
2. Use it to get hands on experience.
3. Sleep with it.
4. Take notes of its features everyday of use for the blog.
5. Return it within the allowable time to get 100% refund.
I love it because I'll be thanked twice. One thanks for buying, one thanks for returning. And please do not try my scam, er, I mean my scheme if you want to blog about a new or used car because the dealers will charge unspecified restocking fee.
maursader
50%
50%
maursader,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 10:40:12 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Hey Eric, I found that I agreed with several points of your article, as I also own an iPhone 5. With that being said, I strongly agree that those who own the iPhone 5 won't find a lot of value in upgrading to the 5s. One thing I'd like to add though, for discussion purposes is one theoretical reason to justify Apple's reason for these "slight" upgrades; it has to do with cell phone giants and contracts. You mentioned buying your iPhone for the full price (as did I) so you wouldn't need to extend your contract, however, it seems (starting from the iPhone 3g) that if you were to purchase an iPhone on a 2 year term, you'd get a subsidized price (way cheaper iPhone to start) and by the time that 2 year contract is up, the next generation iPhone is out (so in this case, the iPhone 4). After signing a new 2 year contract, 2 years later, you'd be looking at getting an iPhone 5, and so on. In summary, I feel as if apple reserves innovations for those who are contract bound with their cell phone carriers such that when their contract is over, a next-gen iPhone is ready to go with enough features to warrant an upgrade. People who spend $900 to go from an iPhone 5 to a 5s won't see the benefit. Cheers. Ps. Android users, this isn't a discussion about which platform is better moreso than getting the most value out of your current smartphone, versus upgrading to the next generation. It's so sad to see merit-less debates about both sides. It's technology people, embrace it.
WillS111
50%
50%
WillS111,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 10:57:22 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I am going to be seen as an Apple hater but I am not. I travel the world quite a bit. Here are some realities, Apple has no chance to succeed in China. Their product is grossly overpriced and the Chinese have a lot of very good and cheaper alternatives. Apple is trying to position themselves as a luxury product. The number of luxury electronic products is very small and almost all are in the audiophile category. Reality, I purchased a "refurbished" smart phone from ebay for $100, I have 48 Gig of memory with my 32 gig SD card. It is at least as good as my wife's iphone. And with Andriod I get a ton of free apps.

I spend time in Brazil and an iPhone here cost twice as much as any other phone on the market. If you are going to try and be a luxury product people should be getting something more, a Galaxy 4 from Samsung is a vastly superior product and at a lower price. I also own a Kindle Fire HD, I really use it a lot and enjoy what it offers. And if it gets stolen I am out $200 try that with an Apple iPad mini. And the Apple store - give me a break! Who buys music anymore when you can run Spotify and get free movies from Netflix and Amazon?

And the iMacs are a disaster, why anyone would buy one is beyond me, and basically no one is buying them. Three years from now Apple will be at best a $200 stock and I really think a $150 stock. And from the reviews I have been reading the IPhone 5s is also a technical disaster. If I had been at a different point in life I would have made a small fortune short selling Apple when it was at $700. I am retired so no more short selling in my future. If you want to make some real money I think there is still a lot to be made short selling Apple at $500. If you want to play it safer try some LEAP Puts on Apple.
moarsauce123
50%
50%
moarsauce123,
User Rank: Ninja
10/19/2013 | 11:50:13 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
"I am going to be seen as an Apple hater but I am not." -10 points on your essay. You failed to develop your thesis statement and provide examples.
ValiantT456
50%
50%
ValiantT456,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:37:53 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
You failed to demonstrate an IQ above room temperature.
rhoffman037
50%
50%
rhoffman037,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 4:32:16 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
You failed to make a comment that was moderately interesting, or contained any actual content.
mak63
50%
50%
mak63,
User Rank: Ninja
10/21/2013 | 8:41:23 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
you made my day
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:40:14 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Wow, you're easy to please.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:40:46 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
WillS111
50%
50%
WillS111,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 11:01:13 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
You might want to check back in with your doctor, the meds aren't working!
MrEdofCourse
50%
50%
MrEdofCourse,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 11:05:52 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I actually prefer Apple to keep the same 2 year design cycle. It allows us to use accessories that fit the design for a much longer period.

The best value on the iPhone is to upgrade every two years and do so under contract. You'll find whether you're on an number or S cycle, the releases will be significant. The advantage of being on an S cycle is that things are usually more fleshed out... especially as far as accessories go. For example, I remember when the iPhone 5 came out, I had to wait quite a long time for battery cases, while the iPhone 5S can use any of the battery cases designed for the iPhone 5.

An article pointing out that an iPhone S without any subsidy isn't worth upgrading to is kind of pointless as that should always be a given... unless you're thinking that phones can continue to evolve at a pace where you'd want to spend $900 a year on the hardware.
JSRES
50%
50%
JSRES,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/19/2013 | 11:44:46 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Do people really believe that either of these companies (Apple or Samsung) will ever go out of business?? Come on!! How many times has Dell, HP, TI, IBM, made huge blunders in technology, yet they are still chugging along, just as Apple and Samsung will.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:22:44 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
It happened to blackberry (Research in motion). You don't think it could happen to any of those companies as well ?

And yes i realize they where bought out. However the stock still went down in flames.
moarsauce123
50%
50%
moarsauce123,
User Rank: Ninja
10/19/2013 | 11:57:23 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Fair enough. You didn't like the phone and returned it. Good on you. And you got some hits out of your article via controversy as well. I'd say you've gotten your money's worth.

I'm not sure about upgrading to the 5s either. The inaccuracy of the level and compass is not in keeping with (at least my idea of) Apple's high standard. It's kind of antenna gate all over again, isn't it?

I'm hanging with my 4s until Apple addresses those little glitches. Maybe I, too, will have to wait for the 6. But, Android? Um, not thanks.
Mitch432
50%
50%
Mitch432,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 12:01:43 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
There's so many problems with the reasoning in this piece of opinion fluff that it's difficult to decide where to begin...

How about here: "Surely Apple could create a unique phone each
year. It simply chooses not to. I understand its thinking and strategy
here, but as a consumer and as a tech journalist, I want to see Apple do
more."

Hmmm, I wish Information Week would publish more thoughtful analysis about the implications of Apple's technology on enterprises, many of which don't give a damn about annual change for the sake of change. This article is NOT that, for sure.

Instead, we readers get this lame attempt at luring eyeballs to the site's ads.
PeterD332
50%
50%
PeterD332,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 12:38:37 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I think every everyone world (like this author, an obvious moron) who has ever returned a product should have their own blog post describing why they made their decision. That way we could have a lot more ridiculous statements, misinformation, and generally waste our time listening to uninformed people. What a great occupation journalism has become.
StephanyB740
50%
50%
StephanyB740,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 12:56:06 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Well duh! The S models are not going to be super revolutionary or be changed that much.. It's your own dumb fault for jumping the gun when you have a 5!!! Two years is when you should upgrade.. not every single stinking year! That's with any phone!!!
Frank_Truth
50%
50%
Frank_Truth,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 12:59:17 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
What you wrote about the iPhone 5s is exactly what I have been saying since
it was introduced. I also think the new iOS is a horrible step backwards.

I have an iPhone 4. I have been waiting for Apple to make some real improvements. They have not.

12 year old girls and 300 lb men do not have the same size hands. One size does not fit all. There is no reason for Apple not to be making different size phones for users with different needs.

I am not interested in Samsung phones. If Apple does not start improving their phone there will soon be other phones on the market as good the iPhone, if not better.

If you think other companies make a better phone, that is great. You are entitled to your opinion, and I am entitled to mine.

As should be evident from this message, I am not an Apple fanboy.

There are so many fundamental things Apple ought to do to improve their phone. The people running Apple are idiots. They seem to be doing everything in their power to destroy the best cell phone on the market.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 6:04:06 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Let me gain another 125+ pounds maybe i can start making this argument as well.
wait..
Frank_Truth
50%
50%
Frank_Truth,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:00:46 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Other companies have been making radical improvements to their phones every year. Apple only sells one basic phone, and they haven't really improved it in three years.

I don't consider the 4s, 5, and 5s to be a significant improvement over the iPhone 4. They are milking their enterprise, and destroying their reputation.

Instead of making real improvements to their products, they are buying back stock and paying dividends. They have lost ground to other phone manufacturers. They may still be the leader, but they no longer have the lead they once had. Their lead is shrinking at a very fast rate.
RockH202
50%
50%
RockH202,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:12:16 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Is this all you can do is troll? If you have something to say then say it.
EmmaG353
50%
50%
EmmaG353,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:19:08 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
you returned your iphone because you're a liar and a shill for google or samsung or some other disingenuous plagiarizing entity.
ymallu
50%
50%
ymallu,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:23:18 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
it took you 3 generations of iPhones to figure out that it doesn't add much value to buy the S? Slow catching on, huh? Question is would you have bought a 5S if you currently had a 4S?
anon3297461029
50%
50%
anon3297461029,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:25:50 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
So the biggest reason you returned a $900 phone was because it was too similar to the last one, and not because IT'S A $900 PHONE ?! Buddy you need a reality check.

Some people don't know what to do with their money.

I've been using a Galaxy 2 and it still works fine. It's not different from the latest galaxy.

This guy is probably just another Apple fanboy who lives to buy the latest rotten apple. Pathetic.
SmailB826
50%
50%
SmailB826,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:33:10 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
You bought a new phone without looking into it at all so you did not realize that it was not an improvement on what you have...?
XiroMisho
50%
50%
XiroMisho,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:37:44 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Probably pretty good. Also enjoying the internet service that makes every ISP in the US (Sans Google Fiber) seem slow.
Frank_Truth
50%
50%
Frank_Truth,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:42:17 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The author of the article had a legitimate reason for returning it. I don't believe he is a shill for another company. He is not the only iPhone owner disappointed with Apple.
ByronS323
50%
50%
ByronS323,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 2:14:07 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
IOS 7 runs smoothly on my iPhone 5s; no random reboots or glitches as reported by this author. Also, we're now in a time where all manufacturers (including Samsung) will be doing incremental upgrades for their new releases. So, it's a moot point to say that Apple is being "lazy" when the entire smartphone industry is headed in that direction. But, to Apple's credit, they did get the ball rolling in 64 bit mobile processing with the 5s.
JasonH418
50%
50%
JasonH418,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 3:53:58 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I can't even believe people still buy the iphone. If i have a choice between 5+inch screen, quad core phones with 2 gigs of ram vs 1 gig of ram dual core, with a small screen... at the same price? I think I will go with the first choice. I am pretty happy with the note 2. I do not think i could live with a phone with such a small screen.
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:25:38 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
M7 FTW!
CodyW052
50%
50%
CodyW052,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 4:03:41 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
sounds like someone likes change for the simple fact of change... he also woulnd't be happy with the s4 like some people suggested, its the same as the s3...
anon0879225698
50%
50%
anon0879225698,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 6:17:17 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Is it wrong to unembrace the norm?
kwhonder
50%
50%
kwhonder,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 3:55:27 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I think the exorbitant extravagance reflected by needing to have the latest gadget at such a marked up price is morally wrong and wasteful - akin to say the guy who needs to have a toilet seat made of 14k gold. That said, this guy is a reviewer and this is what he does for a living - which then makes the attempt to present himself as an average consumer a bit misleading and deceptive. He didn't return the iphone 5s because inherently its a defective product. He returned it because in comparison to his iphone 5, it was not worth the extra money he would pay to avoid the contract (which is not the use case for the average consumer). But hey, it's all a game, especially for people for whom cost is not a factor - which by itself is a sad commentary, given that most of the people on the planet are starving. My opinion...
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:16:05 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
"Morally wrong"?? Uh...ok. So I need to consult some higher power (or you) to determine what I should spend my money on?

Or how about this instead. There are people out there with the means and income to spend money on things that may be outside and beyond YOUR means and ability. Thats perfectly okay and absolutely nothing wrong with it. If it somehow bothers you, might I suggest you not worrying what the F other people do with their money.
kwhonder
50%
50%
kwhonder,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/23/2013 | 6:46:13 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
um, ok. keep on being an arrogant prick. it suits you.. (get over yourself). it's not about me and my money. it's about having a conscious - which clearly you don't, you overindulged sprat.
kwhonder
50%
50%
kwhonder,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/23/2013 | 6:51:21 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
do us both a favor and save your reply. do you....fake wannabe...
kwhonder
50%
50%
kwhonder,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 6:03:13 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Hey guys, forgive me but I got stuck on the $500 to $900 a year for a new smart phone..... Really?
debegger
50%
50%
debegger,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 8:48:19 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
What a ridiculous 'consumer' attitude, Eric. You sound like a spoiled child who can't get enough toys. I hope Apple doesn't listen.
dbtinc
50%
50%
dbtinc,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:23:29 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
the 5S? still makes phone calls? Takes pictures, texts? Next story please.
CorydonM345
50%
50%
CorydonM345,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:25:41 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Anyone spending "$500 to $900" of their own money on a smartphone each year has more money than sense.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:10:36 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Or they have more money and sense than you. Thats another possibility.
naylor0
50%
50%
naylor0,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 1:41:07 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Samsung haven't changed their design/s since the GS3 was released thats ridiculous, arguably longer because the galaxy s i bought in 2010 has almost the same plastic they use today
Eric Zeman
50%
50%
Eric Zeman,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 2:56:22 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
All - Thanks for taking the time to read and join the discussion. Just a few comments from me.

Some have suggested that I could have sold my iPhone 5 and kept the 5s. That is true, though my 5 is pretty well used (i.e., slightly dented in one corner) and I may not get top dollar for it.

I agree that it was my choice to pay full price for the phone, but even if I had signed a new contract with AT&T, I would have saved only $200. My total out-of-pocket expense would still have exceeded $600. As I noted in the article, for people upgrading from an iPhone 4 or 4s, it's a nice jump to the iPhone 5s, especially at the on-contract price of $200. I'm done with contracts, though. I won't sign any more for wireless service.

Some have suggested that I should have known the experience would be the same. Yes, of course I did. However, I had to purchase the phone in order to review it. Generally I keep review units that I purchase myself, especially iPhones. This is the first time I've returned an iPhone, however, and it is for the reasons stated in the article above.

Given the nature of what I do, I don't stick with any one device for very long. I have about a dozen or so devices that I cycle through regularly so that I can test apps and services on different hardware running different versions of the four major operating systems (Android, BlackBerry, iOS, and Windows Phone). Same goes for tablets. The iPhone 5 will remain in my rotation until next year when Apple shows us something different.

As for Apple's device strategy, it is what it is. Look at Apple's other hardware. Its MacBooks barely ever change in their design and usually see only iterative updates each cycle (with the exception of the Retina Displays). This is simply the way Apple wants to run its business. It works for Apple. The company sells plenty of gear each year. I think most of you will agree with me, however, that smartphones are different from laptops/desktops. The space is incredibly competitive and some of Apple's rivals are outpacing it in terms of technology and innovation. I don't think you can argue this point. But it's a free market, and Apple can make - and live by - its own choices.

Again, thanks for reading and sharing your own thoughts.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:10:17 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Eric, the accusations were that you bought the phone with EVERY intention of returning it and only purchased it to write some hit whore article about Apple.

Admit you basically work in an industry that rewards hit whoring gossip more than actual journalism and factual based reporting.
MarioR398
50%
50%
MarioR398,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 3:56:06 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Eric, you did not buy or spend $900. You returned the phone and had every intention of returning and getting your money after doing this article that was already written before buying the 5s sounds like. You wrote this to get an article that will be read over all the good articles about the 5s.
GradyP256
50%
50%
GradyP256,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/20/2013 | 5:16:45 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The author has certainly made a great case against rushing out to grab the latest iPhone. It's not that complicated a plan to follow, actually. If you have a second generation, "s," wait for the next "s." If you have a first generation, say 5, then wait for 6.
Byurcan
50%
50%
Byurcan,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 1:02:00 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I completely agree with this assessment, yet thousands of people will sleep outside on the sidewalk awaiting the new Apple device, even if it does little different than the previous one. That's brainwashing, er marketing at its finest.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 9:57:40 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Bryan I see you work for "banktech.com". You know when I look for advice on technology related matters I usually turn to the banking industry because god knows banks are leaders in innovation and bleeding edge technology! And your background is a reporter in municipal courts!?! Oh tell me more about what I should and shouldn't purchase in consumer technology. (Hope you are sharp enough to recognize sarcasm).

So lets address your accusation on brainwashing/marketing. I love asshats that think that everyone purchasing the latest Apple product is some mindless fanboi idiot. What if there is just one feature in the new phone that I've decided I want and have the means and money to buy it? Does that make me brainwashed if I want it? The truth is there may be any number of reasons someone gets a new phone and who the F are you to say they are just being brainwashed? Using your logic, we all just need to purchase just one car our entire lives because they all basically do the same thing huh?

p.s.
Really strange your banktech website uses the EXACT same layout, backend and template as information Week. How original. Are you friends with Eric? You both have a lot in common.
Aden11
50%
50%
Aden11,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 1:51:48 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
If you want to generate web traffic on your site than write an article in favor or against Apple products.
sfreeves
50%
50%
sfreeves,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 2:45:11 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
These reasons are the same reasons I switched from Apple iPhone 5 to the Samsung Galaxy S4. Apple changed the game when it announced the iPhone, but since then they have been making small changes and updates while all the other smartphone providers have been making huge advancements. I could have purchased the iPhone 5s and I am pretty surprised I didn't because I am an Apple supporter, but after reading the specs I knew it would be just like my iPhone 5 so I switched to an entirely new OS and phone and lets just say I LOVE IT!!
AllenJ031
50%
50%
AllenJ031,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 4:35:06 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I completely agree. I have an iPhone 5 which works great. I also have a Google Nexus 4 which also works very well. If I compare price, I also bought my T-Mobile iPhone out right and paid around $650 as I recall. I bought the Nexus 4 16gb for $250 a month ago and it does everything the iPhone does plus NFC, inductive charging, etc. As to the apps, every app I have on the iPhone is on the Nexus 4, so like Eric says, I won't be getting a new iPhone until a bigger screen and features show up.
aflaidar980
50%
50%
aflaidar980,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 5:53:55 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
5s camera is not just "slightly improved". Dynamic range is over one stop better than in 5, panorama mode is capable of per frame HDR compensation, fast hardware allows for multiple shots series. I also use an 5 / iOS 7 and I can tell it hiccups now and then for lack of processing power, where 5s is a fluid experience.
Overall this article is nothing but the standard unsubstantiated, provocative post which adds up to the Internet noise. Perhaps understandable from a fanboy craving for attention but inexcusable from a magazine with higher aim.
Aroper-VEC
50%
50%
Aroper-VEC,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 6:08:59 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I agree... Substantively, this article lacks any real depth - no investigation and only anecdotal evidence. Of course, I think anyone would have some buyer's remorse if they spent nearly $1K on a smartphone and wasn't overwhelmed by the experience. The few points mentioned could have had more backing with real data and some investigative reporting. Plus, it's important to note that Samsung and the other players put out new phones all the time because they are marketing to a different demographic - everyone that's not an Apple consumer and/or doesn't want to be.

Personally, I think Apple introduced the "S" cycle only because of investor demand/pressure. Even at the time of the first "S" release, Apple was criticized for not doing more. OK, so what were they supposed to do? Hold out until the iPhone 4? Then they would have been vilified for not having a new product for the holidays' sales season.

It is really easy to pick on Apple. It's also really easy to pick on Microsoft. I think this is because they were the "first" to do anything and automatically generate "haters". This is no different than people who "hate" a particular ball team or player only because they are having success. It must be an envy thing. I'm sure there are Samsung haters out there. Write an article about Samsung and see how many come out....
dissi201
50%
50%
dissi201,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 8:08:30 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
So GǪ lots of problems with the iOS7 on your 5S. Since you actually bought Applecare, did you call them with your issues? Did you ACTUALLY troubleshoot the problems GǪ beginning with a re-install of your system? I've known a few folks that believed you could directly download iOS from the internet and install on your iPhone GǪ or any phone and expect 100% success. You should have downloaded first and THEN install. Yes GǪ know 5S comes with iOS7 installed. I had the same experience with iOS6 to my iPhone 5 GǪ and guess what? Problems later I reinstalled. Smooth sailing from then on.
mak63
50%
50%
mak63,
User Rank: Ninja
10/21/2013 | 8:57:34 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
The author mentions $900 several times, and just a few comments about it. This is an overpriced piece of ... technology.
blackhatt
50%
50%
blackhatt,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/21/2013 | 10:38:01 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Keep deleting and moderating the comments asshat. Journalism at its finest.

You're up to a whopping 90 comments so far...unless you're deleting more as we speak! Mission accomplished! Might I suggest you purchase a new iPad next week and then return it for some bullshit, trumped up reason. Maybe the black color isn't black enough for you perhaps?

HIT WHORE AWAY!!!
Compatibles2
50%
50%
Compatibles2,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/22/2013 | 10:05:07 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
So we live in a world where anybody can buy, or should I say try, a $900 high tech product, just to return it because one "feels he spent $900 to get a fingerprint sensor?" Maybe it's because I am from the generation that is used to think and consider the pro's and cons of expensive gadgets BEFORE we buy them......but I would consider this behaviour a good reason to be locked up for a long time, for being a person without any common sense left. But maybe this is what becomes of "reviewers" that obviously don't get a phone for review purposes from the manufacturers anymore.
TerryB
50%
50%
TerryB,
User Rank: Ninja
10/22/2013 | 4:58:32 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
95 comments (and counting) on a phone review? Really? I remember when InformationWeek was about computer and networking stuff. What's next, 3D television reviews for these people to fight over?
Andre Richards
50%
50%
Andre Richards,
User Rank: Strategist
10/23/2013 | 12:35:36 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
This author is really suspect. His article history shows that he covers Android and Windows by talking up new products, but covers Apple by criticizing the crap out of them. Same for his Twitter feed. It's okay to have biases, Eric, but admit to them up-front so I can save my time avoiding your stuff. There's far too much noise out there nowadays as it is. Why add to it?
PiyaliR378
50%
50%
PiyaliR378,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/23/2013 | 1:42:05 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
A radical step. Such reactions also remain as clear indications about the marketing techniques of many providers which create a hype even before the formal launch of the product. Its good to know that somebody has shown the guts to protest in his own way. The mobile ad network companies like appnext or adcolony should also look into such incidents before framing out their apps and games
RomC462
50%
50%
RomC462,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/23/2013 | 4:17:44 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I see a lot of apple hating clowns on here and Eric who cares why you returned your iphone clown
bwalker970
50%
50%
bwalker970,
User Rank: Strategist
10/24/2013 | 12:23:52 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Calling Apple lazy because they keep the same design for two years is a weak argument especially when holding up Samsung as an example of non-lazy design. Apple and Samsung could not be any different in their approach to design. Different is not necessarily better. Rather than demonstrating industriousness, Samsung's approach to design is undisciplined and haphazard. The reason that Samsung brings dozens of new product designs to market in a year is because they employ several competing product groups in the hope that if they throw enough ideas up against the wall, some of them will stick. Apple is much more deliberate and disciplined in their approach to design. Some of the folks who really appreciate Apple's disciplined process are the third-party developers who make accessories for the iPhone and the owners of iOS devices of which 64% are now using iOS 7. How many Samsung devices are running the latest version of Android?
Researcher32
50%
50%
Researcher32,
User Rank: Apprentice
10/25/2013 | 10:06:02 PM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
Author, you say "...iOS 7 on the 5s was a bug-ridden mess..." Really? That tells me your anti-Apple bias gets in the way of your facts. Your article is a FAIL.
Joe Stanganelli
50%
50%
Joe Stanganelli,
User Rank: Ninja
10/29/2013 | 7:18:07 AM
re: Why I Returned My iPhone 5s
I would respectfully dispute the point that the 4 and the 4S were the same. The 4S had a more advanced chipset AND it introduced Siri as a feature.

(Whether Siri counts as an improvement some might debate, but those two phones do definitely offer a different experience from each other, IMHO.)
UNCLE BERNIE MADOFF
50%
50%
UNCLE BERNIE MADOFF,
User Rank: Strategist
12/11/2013 | 1:05:00 PM
5s
Ok, those are fair arguments. But I object to holding Samsung up as innovators. All they can do is copy- and handsomely punished for it, too.
Building A Mobile Business Mindset
Building A Mobile Business Mindset
Among 688 respondents, 46% have deployed mobile apps, with an additional 24% planning to in the next year. Soon all apps will look like mobile apps and it's past time for those with no plans to get cracking.
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
White Papers
Current Issue
InformationWeek Elite 100 - 2014
Our InformationWeek Elite 100 issue -- our 26th ranking of technology innovators -- shines a spotlight on businesses that are succeeding because of their digital strategies. We take a close at look at the top five companies in this year's ranking and the eight winners of our Business Innovation awards, and offer 20 great ideas that you can use in your company. We also provide a ranked list of our Elite 100 innovators.
Video
Slideshows
Twitter Feed
Audio Interviews
Archived Audio Interviews
GE is a leader in combining connected devices and advanced analytics in pursuit of practical goals like less downtime, lower operating costs, and higher throughput. At GIO Power & Water, CIO Jim Fowler is part of the team exploring how to apply these techniques to some of the world's essential infrastructure, from power plants to water treatment systems. Join us, and bring your questions, as we talk about what's ahead.