Strategic CIO // Executive Insights & Innovation
News
8/8/2014
08:06 AM
David Wagner
David Wagner
Slideshows
Connect Directly
Twitter
RSS
E-Mail

Geek's Guide To NYC Travel: Interop Preview

Superheroes, Dr. Who bars, video games, Seth Meyers, and more. Check out some of the coolest things a geek can see while in New York for Interop.
2 of 12

Flicks
Even though Hollywood is the center of the filmmaking universe, New York plays a close second. The radio and television industry history here is undeniable. You can't walk a block without seeing something Woody Allen filmed in black and white or a building where a couple fell in (or out of) love or an alien was destroyed in a summer blockbuster. But to see it all in one day, check out two amazing museums: the Paley Center for Media and the Museum of the Moving Image (pictured).
Both museums house fine collections of video ranging from classic TV and movies to the modern day. The Museum of the Moving Image is running an exhibit on Looney Tunes (among others) artist Chuck Jones and will soon house donated Muppets from the Jim Henson family, including Kermit, Miss Piggy, and the Swedish Chef. Paley and the Museum of the Moving Image are constantly screening, but their Interop schedules aren't out. But just to give you a taste of what to expect, this summer Paley offered an eclectic array of TV -- from a tribute to Monty Python to a World War I news reel marathon to a set of Fashion Week archives from the Mad Men era. Every September, Paley previews the pilots of upcoming TV shows before they debut on major networks. Go to either great museum to get your flick on.

Flicks
Even though Hollywood is the center of the filmmaking universe, New York plays a close second. The radio and television industry history here is undeniable. You can't walk a block without seeing something Woody Allen filmed in black and white or a building where a couple fell in (or out of) love or an alien was destroyed in a summer blockbuster. But to see it all in one day, check out two amazing museums: the Paley Center for Media and the Museum of the Moving Image (pictured).

Both museums house fine collections of video ranging from classic TV and movies to the modern day. The Museum of the Moving Image is running an exhibit on Looney Tunes (among others) artist Chuck Jones and will soon house donated Muppets from the Jim Henson family, including Kermit, Miss Piggy, and the Swedish Chef. Paley and the Museum of the Moving Image are constantly screening, but their Interop schedules aren't out. But just to give you a taste of what to expect, this summer Paley offered an eclectic array of TV -- from a tribute to Monty Python to a World War I news reel marathon to a set of Fashion Week archives from the Mad Men era. Every September, Paley previews the pilots of upcoming TV shows before they debut on major networks. Go to either great museum to get your flick on.

2 of 12
Comment  | 
Print  | 
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
<<   <   Page 2 / 3   >   >>
Alison_Diana
100%
0%
Alison_Diana,
User Rank: Author
8/11/2014 | 9:59:58 AM
Re: Brooklyn Bias?
Great point about the superhero characters. A few made the news over the past few weeks, not for saving damsels in distress or beating up villains but for trying to shake-down tourists who apparently didn't tip adequately. All anyone has to do to join the melee is don tights and a cape, so you never really know who's behind the mask!
Alison_Diana
100%
0%
Alison_Diana,
User Rank: Author
8/11/2014 | 9:58:00 AM
Re: Brooklyn Bias?
Seeing the World Fair site is always a bit jarring, although I must admit i don't believe i've ever made it to the actual site -- just driven by (or more likely been stuck in traffic) while driving the LIE into Manhattan.
Alison_Diana
100%
0%
Alison_Diana,
User Rank: Author
8/11/2014 | 9:56:05 AM
Re: 3D Printers
Looking even further into the future, most likely there'll be a day when a decent percentage of households own a 3D printer. This device will revoutionize many industries, from healthcare (as we're already seeing) to distribution (say goodbye to 10-14 business days for parts delivery)! It could become a similar scenario to that seen with PCs: Many middle and upper class families will own one (or more) while the less fortunate, those who only need them occasionally, and others will access them at libraries or other centrally located community sites.
Brian.Dean
100%
0%
Brian.Dean,
User Rank: Ninja
8/9/2014 | 6:15:55 AM
3D Printers
It is just a matter of time before every city in the world has at least one 3D printing store, this would help individuals utilize equipment for which manufactures have stopped producing after-sales parts. For example, if a car's tail light that is not being produced any longer is broken, a customer could just find the design, send the files to the printing store and the printing store would mail the customer their new tail light -- all in a single day. 
Brian.Dean
100%
0%
Brian.Dean,
User Rank: Ninja
8/9/2014 | 6:03:40 AM
Re: Beer and Arcade Games!
Arcade games and super hero movies have a deep connection to IT, for example, movies such as "The Matrix" would be impossible to create without the computational capabilities of computers as well as without IT/simulations, the viewer would not be able to conceptualize the story. 
jastroff
IW Pick
100%
0%
jastroff,
User Rank: Ninja
8/8/2014 | 6:32:09 PM
Re: Brooklyn Bias?
Brooklyn is just the also-ran of the Upper West Side of Manhattan. Nobody would bother with Bklyn unless they couldn't live in Manhattan.

Also, avoid the Superheros around Times Square. They are not licensed, and they have questionable behaviors for some time.

But, welcome to NYC, and enjoy! You can get anything here you want, and pretty much do anything round the clock!
David Wagner
100%
0%
David Wagner,
User Rank: Strategist
8/8/2014 | 2:15:02 PM
Re: Brooklyn Bias?
@Susan- Don't blame me. I just follow the geeks to wehere the geek stuff is. :)

Also if anyone from Long Island or the Bronx wants to trumpet the geek cred of their neighborhood, go for it. :)


Susan_Nunziata
100%
0%
Susan_Nunziata,
User Rank: Strategist
8/8/2014 | 1:56:35 PM
Brooklyn Bias?
@Dave: my Queens-girl ire was up when I saw how many places on the list are in B'klyn. Then you redeemed yourself with the World's Fair site and the Queens Museum, which boasts - among other attractions -- this lovingly maintained Panorama of the City of New York. It's also fun to stroll around Flushing Meadows-Corona Park (where the museum is located) and walk amongst the post-apocalyptic ruins of Worlds Fairs past. Oh, and it's just steps from the Hall of Science--added bonus is fantastic Latino food to be found along Roosevelt Ave. in Jackson Heights, or a visit to the classic Italian  The Park Side Restaurant of Coronoa, with dessert at the nearby Lemon Ice King of Corona followed by a game of bacci ball in the park. 
Drew Conry-Murray
100%
0%
Drew Conry-Murray,
User Rank: Ninja
8/8/2014 | 12:54:15 PM
Re: Beer and Arcade Games!
I like Rampage too. I'd definately drop some quarters in that one. My favorites, which the bar doesn't seem to have, are Tron, Star Wars, and Heavy Barrel. Not to mention Street Fighter 2. I spent way too much time in arcades as a young man.
David Wagner
100%
0%
David Wagner,
User Rank: Strategist
8/8/2014 | 12:34:09 PM
Re: Beer and Arcade Games!
@Drew- Don't shoot the food! Elf needs food...badly. :)

My favorite was Rampage. I loved knocking down buildings like King Kong or Godzilla (though I preferred to play the werewolf). 

I worked at a miniature golf course with an arcade when I was young. I used to go to sleep with the sounds of the arcade in my head. It is strangely...soothing.
<<   <   Page 2 / 3   >   >>
The Business of Going Digital
The Business of Going Digital
Digital business isn't about changing code; it's about changing what legacy sales, distribution, customer service, and product groups do in the new digital age. It's about bringing big data analytics, mobile, social, marketing automation, cloud computing, and the app economy together to launch new products and services. We're seeing new titles in this digital revolution, new responsibilities, new business models, and major shifts in technology spending.
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
White Papers
Current Issue
InformationWeek Must Reads Oct. 21, 2014
InformationWeek's new Must Reads is a compendium of our best recent coverage of digital strategy. Learn why you should learn to embrace DevOps, how to avoid roadblocks for digital projects, what the five steps to API management are, and more.
Video
Slideshows
Twitter Feed
InformationWeek Radio
Archived InformationWeek Radio
A roundup of the top stories and trends on InformationWeek.com
Sponsored Live Streaming Video
Everything You've Been Told About Mobility Is Wrong
Attend this video symposium with Sean Wisdom, Global Director of Mobility Solutions, and learn about how you can harness powerful new products to mobilize your business potential.