CES 2015 Preview: 8 Hot Trends - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
IT Life
News
1/3/2015
08:06 AM
Kevin Casey
Kevin Casey
Slideshows

CES 2015 Preview: 8 Hot Trends

Tech's annual celebration of gadgets, robots, and connected everything kicks off soon in Vegas. Here's what will grab the spotlight at CES 2015.
2 of 9

Connected cars
The automotive industry's CES presence has moved from keynote-speech mentions to cars on the showroom floor. This year will include an unprecedented 10 automakers as CES continues to serve as a major pit stop for car manufacturers looking to demo new tech. Expect all manner of connected car tech on display, not the least of which includes BMW showing off a smartwatch-controlled, laser-guided i3 that can park itself, sans driver.

(Image: Intel Free Press)

Connected cars
The automotive industry's CES presence has moved from keynote-speech mentions to cars on the showroom floor. This year will include an unprecedented 10 automakers as CES continues to serve as a major pit stop for car manufacturers looking to demo new tech. Expect all manner of connected car tech on display, not the least of which includes BMW showing off a smartwatch-controlled, laser-guided i3 that can park itself, sans driver.

(Image: Intel Free Press)

2 of 9
Comment  | 
Print  | 
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
Ariella
50%
50%
Ariella,
User Rank: Author
1/6/2015 | 11:35:26 AM
Re: When will the smart watch happen?
@Li Tan there are wearables that build sensors into actual shirts and hats. Those are typically used for medical and safety monitoring, so they are not quite the same as smartwatches or even Google glasses.
Li Tan
50%
50%
Li Tan,
User Rank: Ninja
1/5/2015 | 10:08:56 PM
Re: When will the smart watch happen?
I am hoping to see if connected car and wearable can really set our hands free. For example, if I am driving a connected car, I do hope it to be smart so that I don't need to play with UI too frequently, which is obviously dangerous while driving. For wearable, I would like to see if more and more creative ideas in addtion to watch, ring, etc.
Shane M. O'Neill
50%
50%
Shane M. O'Neill,
User Rank: Author
1/5/2015 | 2:51:39 PM
When will the smart watch happen?
I'm hoping that CES provides more clarity on smartwatches. It's a market with so much potential, but it's still not breaking through with consumers. I had a chance to play around with Galaxy Gear 2 watch recently and it's really useful and fun. It keeps the phone in the pocket, and we can all agree that's probably a good thing. It may indeed take the Apple Watch release to move the dial on smartwatches, but CES could be a good teaser for the market in general.

But ultimately, I think most folks will walk away from CES 2015 talking about the connected car and home, two exciting trends as well.
Laurianne
50%
50%
Laurianne,
User Rank: Author
1/5/2015 | 12:17:47 PM
Auto buzz
Based on my social feeds, the CES buzz is auto tech so far.
mak63
50%
50%
mak63,
User Rank: Ninja
1/5/2015 | 2:01:36 AM
iWatch
It looks to me, or there are not that many people interested or excited about the launch of the Apple's iWatch? Discounting people who work at Apple or journalists, of course.
PedroGonzales
50%
50%
PedroGonzales,
User Rank: Ninja
1/3/2015 | 9:34:05 PM
Re: CES 2015 Preview: 8 Hot Trends
Some of the things I will be very interested to see, specially, monitoring devices.   Although, there is a huge hype on this technology, but they haven't made an impact on consumers the same way tablets did.  I would like to see more robots as well.  Could the rumba be the best robot we can come up with win over people? I'm sure we can come up with better ideas.     

 
freespiritny25
50%
50%
freespiritny25,
User Rank: Ninja
1/3/2015 | 9:34:57 AM
Re: CES 2015 Preview: 8 Hot Trends
Gearheads paradise for sure! I would love to attend CES 2015 to see all the new devices and hot trends. Smart homes, smart cars, and wearables..so many advances in all arenas of technology. My favorites are the advances with the cars and how connected and easy their systems are. Safety and autonomous driving have also come a long way. What are some of your favorites that are being presented at CES 2015?
Commentary
Enterprise Guide to Edge Computing
Cathleen Gagne, Managing Editor, InformationWeek,  10/15/2019
News
Rethinking IT: Tech Investments that Drive Business Growth
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  10/3/2019
Slideshows
IT Careers: 12 Job Skills in Demand for 2020
Cynthia Harvey, Freelance Journalist, InformationWeek,  10/1/2019
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
State of the Cloud
State of the Cloud
Cloud has drastically changed how IT organizations consume and deploy services in the digital age. This research report will delve into public, private and hybrid cloud adoption trends, with a special focus on infrastructure as a service and its role in the enterprise. Find out the challenges organizations are experiencing, and the technologies and strategies they are using to manage and mitigate those challenges today.
Video
Current Issue
Getting Started With Emerging Technologies
Looking to help your enterprise IT team ease the stress of putting new/emerging technologies such as AI, machine learning and IoT to work for their organizations? There are a few ways to get off on the right foot. In this report we share some expert advice on how to approach some of these seemingly daunting tech challenges.
Slideshows
Flash Poll