iPad Pro Review: Bigger Isn't Always Better - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
Mobile // Mobile Devices
News
11/29/2015
12:06 PM
Eric Zeman
Eric Zeman
Slideshows

iPad Pro Review: Bigger Isn't Always Better

Apple's professional-grade tablet is a massive slate that may replace a laptop for some -- but definitely not all -- mobile professionals. Here's a look at where the iPad Pro rises to the occasion and where it falls flat.
2 of 12

Size Matters
The iPad Pro is thin and (comparatively) light, but the large screen pushes its overall footprint into the awkward. The iPad Pro weighs 1.57 pounds, which is about as much as the original iPad weighed five years ago. It is 50% heavier than the iPad Air 2. The tablet is 12 inches long by 8.68 inches wide, and comes in at 0.27 inches (6.9mm) thick. 
(Image: Eric Zeman)

Size Matters

The iPad Pro is thin and (comparatively) light, but the large screen pushes its overall footprint into the awkward. The iPad Pro weighs 1.57 pounds, which is about as much as the original iPad weighed five years ago. It is 50% heavier than the iPad Air 2. The tablet is 12 inches long by 8.68 inches wide, and comes in at 0.27 inches (6.9mm) thick.

(Image: Eric Zeman)

2 of 12
Comment  | 
Print  | 
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
<<   <   Page 3 / 3
Joe Stanganelli
100%
0%
Joe Stanganelli,
User Rank: Author
11/30/2015 | 7:15:01 PM
Re: Bigger is not always better
@Angel: Yes, smaller was better until companies began to realize that nobody over 35 could read the screens!
Joe Stanganelli
50%
50%
Joe Stanganelli,
User Rank: Author
11/30/2015 | 7:13:57 PM
Re: Size and apps
@jagibbons: Preach!

My fear is that, rather than sensibly installing OSX on enterprise-grade iPads, Apple will replace OSX with iOS.

"Consumers" and enterprise/power users are different!
SKDEV
50%
50%
SKDEV,
User Rank: Moderator
11/30/2015 | 3:28:48 PM
There are some good use cases for larger iPad
I found an app that allows me to use my iPad as an external monitor using the usb 3 cable on my macbook pro. I was very pleased when i discovered that it also worked when using VMWare running Windows 7 Professional.

This gives me a whole new perspective on the iPad Pro. It can act as a tablet, a mobile external monitor, an adjunct device for reference all while you're on your laptop, an artists drawing board, a software designers drawing board, reviewing and marking up documents using the pencil, and then on top of that, if you need to go to a meeting, just grab the iPad and the pencil and off you go. 

To me this spells mobility, power and convenience. Incidently, the app has both Windows and OSX clients, so you're not restricted to just one OS for your laptop. I'm not sure if i can mention the product name on here, so will refrain from doing so.

 

 

 

 
jagibbons
50%
50%
jagibbons,
User Rank: Ninja
11/30/2015 | 12:55:20 PM
Size and apps
I agree that there comes a point when something is too big to be a "tablet." The iPad Pro seems to fit here.

My biggest beef with iOS and why I believe that is the big limitation that will stop the iPad Pro from truly replacing laptops, is that it is app-centric and not file-centric. Everything is encapsulated within apps. To move content from one to another you still have to jump through hoops to open-in or use a cloud sharing service as a go-between. For me, and maybe only me, that is one of the biggest limitations of iOS versus a full computer/notebook OS.
Angelfuego
50%
50%
Angelfuego,
User Rank: Ninja
11/29/2015 | 10:47:03 PM
Bigger is not always better
I am noticin the growing trend of larger screens, whereas a few years back, the trend was smaller and more compactive devices. I am an iPad fan, but won't purchase the iPad Pro on the size alone.
<<   <   Page 3 / 3
Commentary
AI Regulation: Has the Time Arrived?
John Edwards, Technology Journalist & Author,  2/24/2020
News
Fighting the Coronavirus with Analytics and GIS
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  2/3/2020
Slideshows
IT Careers: 10 Job Skills in High Demand This Year
Cynthia Harvey, Freelance Journalist, InformationWeek,  2/3/2020
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Video
Current Issue
IT Careers: Tech Drives Constant Change
Advances in information technology and management concepts mean that IT professionals must update their skill sets, even their career goals on an almost yearly basis. In this IT Trend Report, experts share advice on how IT pros can keep up with this every-changing job market. Read it today!
Slideshows
Flash Poll