informa
/
News

Facebook Feed Changes: 4 Ways To Declutter

Facebook's newest algorithm changes may leave you with a stream full of annoying posts. Regain control over your News Feed using these tips.

3. Sort by list
Friend lists are an easy way to view posts only from people you want. Facebook automatically manages some lists by default. These may include a list for people you work with, family members, and people in your location. You may already have lists created for privacy and sharing purposes, too. You can find all your lists by clicking the Friends subhead on the left-side navigation. This is a good option if you prefer to see only a feed of the news organizations you follow and updates from certain friends, for example.

To create a list, click the "+ Create List" button at the top. Assign a name to your list, and then type the names of the friends you want to add to it. You may want to create a list for your best friends, for example.

To edit the members of any of your preexisting lists, click the list name and then Manage List, which you can find in the top-right of the next page. To the left of the Manage List option is Notifications. Click that button if you want to receive email or Facebook notifications when members of that list post something new.

When you're done creating your lists of Friends, they will appear on the left-side navigation under the header Friends. If you don't see this header, click the More tab on the bottom. When you click any of your Friend lists, your News Feed will show updates only from those Friends you selected -- an easy way to cut through Facebook's clutter. Facebook's algorithm changes will still apply to how it sorts these individual lists.

4. Unfriend
If your Friend has ignited one too many Facebook feuds, invited you to play one too many games, and posted one too many photos of her dinner, it may be time to cut the person loose.

FacebookUnfollow4.png

To Unfriend a user, visit that user's profile, click the Friends button at the top, and select Unfriend from the dropdown menu. Facebook does not confirm that you want to Unfriend the person, so be sure you want to do it first. Once you've Unfriended someone, that person will no longer be able to see your full profile -- depending on your privacy settings. That person will be able to see only the posts you share publicly.

IT groups need data analytics software that's visual and accessible. Vendors are getting the message. Also in the State Of Analytics issue of InformationWeek: SAP CEO envisions a younger, greener, cloudier company (free registration required).