Windows 10 Preview: How To Try It, Safely - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
Software // Operating Systems
News
12/31/2014
09:56 AM
Connect Directly
Twitter
RSS
E-Mail
100%
0%

Windows 10 Preview: How To Try It, Safely

Want to test drive the Windows 10 Technical Preview without screwing up your computer? Windows 8.1's built-in virtualization technology makes it easy.

(in other words, not the Action panel on the right that you used before).

2. From the Action menu, select "New," then "Virtual Machine."

3. A wizard for your new VM will launch. Select "Next" on the first screen (titled "Before You Begin") then, on the following screen, enter the name of the VM you created in Step 2.4. After you've typed the VM's name, select "Next."

4. On the next screen, which is labeled "Specific Generation," select "Generation 1." "Generation 2" is acceptable as well but is only advisable if you want to activate advanced features in the Preview, such as Secure Boot. Once you've chosen the appropriate version, select "Next."

5. On the following screen, labeled "Assign Memory," allocate at least 2048 MB of memory to your VM by typing into the "Startup memory" field. Once you're done, select "Next."

6. On the subsequent screen, labeled "Connect Virtual Hard Disk," select "Create a virtual hard disk," which will be the top option listed in the main frame.

7. In the "Size" field, assign at least 20 GB of storage. Then select "Next."

8. On the next screen, labeled "Installation Options," select "Install an operating system from a bootable CD/DVD-ROM." Under the "Install an operating system from a bootable CD/DVD-ROM" heading, select the radio button for "Image file (.iso)."

9. On the same screen, select "Browse," which is located to the right of the "Image file (.iso)" button. Once the file-browsing window opens, locate the Windows 10 Technical Preview ISO file you downloaded at the beginning of Step 3. Then, select "Next."

10. On the following screen, labeled "Summary," confirm that the VM options listed in the "Description" field are correct, per the previous steps. If not, select "Previous" to move backward through the process and make any necessary changes. If the options are satisfactory, select "Finish."

11. Wait while the system prepares your new VM. Once the process is complete, right click or hold-press the listing for the VM you just created. You should find the listing under the "Virtual Machines" frame, above the "Checkpoints" frame and to the left of the "Actions" column.

12. From the right-click menu, select "Start." Your VM's "State" should change from "Off" to "Running."

13. Right click or hold-press your VM's listing again. This time, select "Connect" from the right-click menu. After connecting, the VM will load in a new window.

14. From here, you can install the Windows 10 Technical Preview in your new virtual environment.

Michael Endler joined InformationWeek as an associate editor in 2012. He previously worked in talent representation in the entertainment industry, as a freelance copywriter and photojournalist, and as a teacher. Michael earned a BA in English from Stanford University in 2005 ... View Full Bio

We welcome your comments on this topic on our social media channels, or [contact us directly] with questions about the site.
Previous
3 of 3
Next
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
Page 1 / 2   >   >>
PedroGonzales
50%
50%
PedroGonzales,
User Rank: Ninja
1/27/2015 | 3:46:52 PM
Re: More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
I'm not eager in getting or testing the new windows 10.  After they figure out all the bugs or at least once it goes to consumer market I will try it, it is that the purpose of Focus groups and usability test, to evaluate the tasks of a product.  Another interface fiasco won't help Microsoft gain more users. 
mejiac
50%
50%
mejiac,
User Rank: Ninja
1/27/2015 | 9:59:25 AM
Re: Feedback
@nommii,

I don't think it has to do with whatever version of Windows your upgrading from, since Windows 10 does a clean install (so you have to install all your software and settings from scratch)

One thing I did like, and maybe this is existing in windows 8 (which I haven't used heavily), when I reinstalled windows 10 in another machine and provided my credentials, it provided me the option to re-install all of the software that I had available, so it's actually pretty convenient.
nomii
50%
50%
nomii,
User Rank: Ninja
1/27/2015 | 5:31:36 AM
Re: Feedback
@mejiac: that is in interesting and promising feedback on new windows. From the news I have heard from the people around me who have used windows 10, I think they have similar experiences on crashing. I am not sure who same build is reporting different behavior. Can it be because of the version you are upgrading from.
nomii
50%
50%
nomii,
User Rank: Ninja
1/27/2015 | 5:23:48 AM
Re: More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
@PedroGonalzes: By looking at my last experience with Microsoft windows 8 release, I was an early user of it. That experience was quite harsh because of not a stable early release with an equally bothering new UI. I am sure this release would have better UI but I still don't want to use an unstable version.
Li Tan
50%
50%
Li Tan,
User Rank: Ninja
1/5/2015 | 10:11:12 PM
Re: More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
Agree with you, gentleman - I will sit with my finger crossed and wait for the commercial version is available. This post provides quite good hints/tips about trying out Windows 10. I do hope it can provide more exciting experience to the end user - the previous version, Windows 8 is just so so...
laredoflash
50%
50%
laredoflash,
User Rank: Strategist
1/3/2015 | 9:45:39 PM
Re: More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
Not if you use Linux.......
PedroGonzales
50%
50%
PedroGonzales,
User Rank: Ninja
1/2/2015 | 6:12:25 PM
Re: More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
I prefer to be on the safe side and wait until windows 10 hits the shelves.  I really hope Microsoft is listening to consumer feedback.  This way it will produce a much better user experience and win back some of its users it has lost because of their previous releases.
55Gibson
50%
50%
55Gibson,
User Rank: Apprentice
1/1/2015 | 2:18:18 PM
Trying out Michael's Windows 10 preview advice
Would like to give this a try however the guidance doesn't quite line up with what I see.

I am on a Surface Pro 3, 8 GB Ram, 512 GB disk with Win 8.1.

1.  I do not see an option in bios to enable Virtual Machine. However it appears I can continue anyways.

2. I can enable Hyper-V in Windows features so I am assuming and I can carry on with the proceedure?

3. After Assign Memory I have another option to Configure Networking which is either Not Connected or name of newly cresated virtual machine. What should it be?

4. In the next panel Connect Virtual Hard Disk where we Create a virtual hard disk it defaults to C:\Users\Public\Documents\Hyper-V\Virtual Hard Disks\. Is this ok?

Would be helpful to know how to remove this should it go wrong and lastly Michael doesn't say how to use it once it is configured.

Some clarity here is appreciated and I will give it a try.

Thanks
mejiac
50%
50%
mejiac,
User Rank: Ninja
12/31/2014 | 3:57:43 PM
Re: Feedback
@Laurianne,

I've been using Windows 10 since it was made available...and I have to say...I'm impressed.

Some main features really caught my attention:

- Boot Manager: Because I have a PC with multiple drives (one with Win 7, the other with Win 10), it asks me which to boot up, and I can set it up to time out in 5 seconds to a default option...very convenient when having to switch.

- Multiple Desktops: this is really handy, specially when on multiple streams of work, it has allowed me to be able to focus on a task, and then be able to switch very easilly.

- Running Windows Apps on Desktop: this is actually one of my favorites. My kids really like the new Paint app, but because it only ran on a windows 8 tablet, I really didn't wanted to get one just for them to be able to play with it. Now they can play any time they want

I haven't really notices and specific crashing issues... only Itunes has been the one to act up almost any time I try to sync and have other stuff running in the background.

Hope this helps
progman2000
50%
50%
progman2000,
User Rank: Ninja
12/31/2014 | 11:02:33 AM
More than 1.5 million already signed up to try Windows 10?
Good grief - my days of being an early adopter are long over.  Maybe I'm getting old, but my best approach to trying Windows 10 will be to leave it on the shelf for at least a year (although I will be force to look at it eventually for work, bah humbug...).
Page 1 / 2   >   >>
Commentary
CIOs Face Decisions on Remote Work for Post-Pandemic Future
Joao-Pierre S. Ruth, Senior Writer,  2/19/2021
Slideshows
11 Ways DevOps Is Evolving
Lisa Morgan, Freelance Writer,  2/18/2021
News
CRM Trends 2021: How the Pandemic Altered Customer Behavior Forever
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  2/18/2021
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Video
Current Issue
2021 Top Enterprise IT Trends
We've identified the key trends that are poised to impact the IT landscape in 2021. Find out why they're important and how they will affect you.
Slideshows
Flash Poll