ITIL's Five Books

A series of books outlines best practices for IT service management.

InformationWeek Staff, Contributor

December 7, 2007

1 Min Read

ITIL 3.0 combines ITIL 2.0'S 10 books into the following five:

Service Strategy explains how to identify market opportunities for new services and includes Service Portfolio Management and Financial Management.

Service Design examines how to develop a strategy into a design document that comprises Availability Management, Capacity Management, Continuity Management, and Security Management.

Service Transition focuses on the implementation of the output of the service design activities and the creation of a production service or modification of an existing service. Service Transition covers Change Management, Release Management, Configuration Management, and Service Knowledge Management.

InformationWeek Reports

Service Operation overlaps with Service Transition and focuses on operating services and meeting service-level agreements. Key areas of this volume are Incident Management, Problem Management, and Request Fulfillment.

Continual Service Improvement builds on the consistent and repeatable processes created in the previous four books. It uses SLA metrics over time to determine how a service can be constantly improved. Key areas of this volume are Service Reporting, Service Measurement, and Service Level Management.

Return to the story:
Standards For IT Governance

Never Miss a Beat: Get a snapshot of the issues affecting the IT industry straight to your inbox.

You May Also Like

More Insights