Facebook Privacy: 10 Settings To Check - InformationWeek

InformationWeek is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them.Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IoT
IoT
Software // Social
News
6/5/2014
08:46 AM
Kristin Burnham
Kristin Burnham
Slideshows
Connect Directly
Google+
LinkedIn
Twitter
RSS
E-Mail

Facebook Privacy: 10 Settings To Check

Facebook's latest privacy changes include a number of welcome improvements. Learn how to tweak your settings for the least exposure.
2 of 11

Delete your location information from Nearby FriendsOne of Facebook's newest features, called Nearby Friends, alerts your friends when you're in close proximity. If you turn on this optional feature, you can pick and choose with whom you want to share your location -- all your friends, a small group, or specific individuals.

When you turn on Nearby Friends, you also turn on Facebook Location History. Facebook uses this information to build a database of the places you've been, even when you're not using the app. Facebook will add your locations to the Location History section of your activity log, but only you will be able to see this.

Although Facebook automatically turns on your Location History, you can switch it off. To do this, tap the More button, then Nearby Friends, then tap the gear icon. From that list, tap Location Settings, then switch the location history feature to off.

If you no longer use Nearby Friends, you can delete past locations from your history as well. To remove places individually, navigate to your activity log from your desktop and click More, then Location History. Click the delete button next to the location you want to remove, then select Delete from the drop-down menu. To clear your entire location history, click Clear Location History at the top of the page.

Delete your location information from Nearby Friends
One of Facebook's newest features, called Nearby Friends, alerts your friends when you're in close proximity. If you turn on this optional feature, you can pick and choose with whom you want to share your location -- all your friends, a small group, or specific individuals.

When you turn on Nearby Friends, you also turn on Facebook Location History. Facebook uses this information to build a database of the places you've been, even when you're not using the app. Facebook will add your locations to the Location History section of your activity log, but only you will be able to see this.

Although Facebook automatically turns on your Location History, you can switch it off. To do this, tap the More button, then Nearby Friends, then tap the gear icon. From that list, tap Location Settings, then switch the location history feature to off.

If you no longer use Nearby Friends, you can delete past locations from your history as well. To remove places individually, navigate to your activity log from your desktop and click More, then Location History. Click the delete button next to the location you want to remove, then select Delete from the drop-down menu. To clear your entire location history, click Clear Location History at the top of the page.

2 of 11
Comment  | 
Print  | 
Comments
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
anon3064061575
50%
50%
anon3064061575,
User Rank: Apprentice
6/12/2014 | 2:50:31 PM
Short sighted, as FB almost always is
What these shortsighted wannabes miss (as well as Goog & the others) is that what I was browsing for yesterday is NOT what I am interested in today.... It is almost amusing, if it wasn't so aggrivating and irritating. It's like Amazon's "suggestions" based on previous purchases - WHY in the world would I want to buy TWO OR MORE of the appliance I just bought???? These "ad men" will never learn because they are so blind to anything except their own faulty concepts.
Kristin Burnham
50%
50%
Kristin Burnham,
User Rank: Author
6/11/2014 | 3:42:03 PM
Re: Complicated
^^That's a feature everyone should use. With so many questions about who can see what, that's the quickest way to find out.
PaulS681
100%
0%
PaulS681,
User Rank: Ninja
6/6/2014 | 11:19:47 AM
Re: All we can
@Thomas... I agree, that statements borders on amusing. Putting the power in the peoples hands but collect all the info you can on them in the process.
PaulS681
100%
0%
PaulS681,
User Rank: Ninja
6/6/2014 | 11:17:02 AM
Complicated
Can it get any more complicated than it already is?? I think the answer is yes.

One feature I do like is the View As feature. You can atleast look at it as the public and see what is being shown to people that are not on your list.
Ariella
50%
50%
Ariella,
User Rank: Author
6/5/2014 | 10:14:41 PM
Re: All we can
@Thomas too true! So easy to say the right thing, but much more difficult to do it, especially when you want to monetize the data that can be gleaned from so many members!
Thomas Claburn
50%
50%
Thomas Claburn,
User Rank: Author
6/5/2014 | 3:43:06 PM
All we can
>"We want to do all we can to put power and control in people's hands," Facebook said in an announcement.

There's a significant gap between that Facebook says it wants to do and what it has actually done.
Slideshows
Top-Paying U.S. Cities for Data Scientists and Data Analysts
Cynthia Harvey, Freelance Journalist, InformationWeek,  11/5/2019
Slideshows
10 Strategic Technology Trends for 2020
Jessica Davis, Senior Editor, Enterprise Apps,  11/1/2019
Commentary
Study Proposes 5 Primary Traits of Innovation Leaders
Joao-Pierre S. Ruth, Senior Writer,  11/8/2019
White Papers
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
Video
Current Issue
Getting Started With Emerging Technologies
Looking to help your enterprise IT team ease the stress of putting new/emerging technologies such as AI, machine learning and IoT to work for their organizations? There are a few ways to get off on the right foot. In this report we share some expert advice on how to approach some of these seemingly daunting tech challenges.
Slideshows
Flash Poll