informa
/
Government
News

5 Google Calendar Headaches, Cured

Is Google Calendar frustrating you at reschedule time? Check out these five workarounds to common problems.
3. You Lose Your To-Do Lists

If you habitually lose your pen-and-paper to-do lists, incorporate them into your calendar by enabling Tasks. This feature works with Gmail, too, to make your to-dos accessible wherever you are.

To enable Tasks, choose it from the menu below "My calendars." You can assign a color to your tasks to set them apart from your events and meetings by clicking the square next to it. Once you choose the Tasks option, a column to the right of your calendar will appear. To add new Tasks to your calendar, click the (+) button and fill in the details, including the due date. When you've completed the task, click the checkbox to remove it.

4. You Need An Overview Of Your Day

Not every businessperson has a personal assistant to fill him in on his day, but one Google Calendar option comes close: You can choose to receive an email with your agenda every day at 5 a.m. local time so you know what the day holds.

To opt in to this feature, navigate to your calendar's Settings page and click the Calendars tab. Then click the link "Reminders and notifications" next to your calendar's name; this will give you a list of options, including "Daily agenda" at the bottom. Click the check mark to enable it, then click Save.

5. Others Need Access To Your Calendar

If you need to give colleagues or family members access to your calendar, you have a number of options to choose from: You can make your entire calendar public; share only your free or busy information; or share your calendar with specific people and enable permission settings for them.

To set these permissions, go to your Settings page, click the Calendars tab and select "Share this calendar" under the "Sharing" subhead. Note that if you choose to make your calendar public, it will appear in public Google search results. If you choose to share it with select people, you can set whether they can see all event details, make changes and manage sharing, make changes to events, or see only free and busy time. Click Save when you're done.