Meaningful Use Stage 2 Rules Finalized - InformationWeek
Government // Leadership
05:22 PM
Ransomware: Latest Developments & How to Defend Against Them
Nov 01, 2017
Ransomware is one of the fastest growing types of malware, and new breeds that escalate quickly ar ...Read More>>

Meaningful Use Stage 2 Rules Finalized

Federal officials emphasize EHR information sharing, require encryption, but dial back some thresholds.

8 Accountable Care Organizations Worth Closer Examination
8 Accountable Care Organizations Worth Closer Examination
(click image for larger view and for slideshow)
Final regulations for the second stage of the Meaningful Use incentive program for electronic health records (EHRs), as expected, call on hospitals, physicians, and other "eligible providers" to increase interoperability of health information, adopt more standardized data formats, and generally make their EHR systems more capable than in the current Stage 1.

Federal officials on Thursday released the final Stage 2 rule for Meaningful Use and accompanying final rule on certification of EHR technology. The 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, which authorized the $27 billion program, requires providers to use certified EHRs in order to earn bonus payments from Medicare, Medicaid or both for Meaningful Use.

Stage 2 will begin in 2014, a year later than ARRA originally called for, or two years after a provider first achieves Stage 1 requirements. Providers can start earning Stage 1 incentive payments as late as 2017, although Medicare will impose penalties for not achieving Meaningful Use by 2015.

[Is it time to re-engineer your clinical decision support system? See 10 Innovative Clinical Decision Support Programs. ]

The 672-page rule is similar to a proposal released in February in that it essentially makes the optional menu items from Stage 1 mandatory, adds a requirement for patient engagement, allows medical groups to attest to Meaningful Use for multiple providers at once, and raises some of the thresholds in meeting mandatory items. For example, Stage 2 requires providers to enter medication orders electronically for at least 60% of their patients, up from 30% in Stage 1.

However, the final rule does dial back some proposed thresholds. Notably, providers now only have to offer online access to health information and secure messaging for 5% of patients, not 10%, as had been proposed.

The final certification rule adds a requirement that all personally identifiable health data be encrypted while "at rest," in response to a recommendation from the Health IT Policy Committee, a federal advisory board, and public comments.

All told, physicians, chiropractors, dentists, physical therapists, and other individual providers have to meet 17 core measures for EHR usage, and also choose three from a menu of six additional measures. Hospitals must achieve 16 core measures plus three of six menu items.

In a Thursday conference call with journalists, national health IT coordinator Dr. Farzad Mostashari called the menu items "potentially more relevant to specialists" than those in Stage 1. Many people have criticized the current stage as being skewed toward primary care.

Eligible providers also must report on nine of a total of 64 specific clinical quality measures, while hospitals need to choose 16 of 29. Starting with the 2014 reporting period, providers will have to submit their Meaningful Use-related clinical quality measures electronically, Elizabeth Holland, director of health information technology initiatives for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), said during the teleconference.

According to Mostashari, Stage 1 was about "beginning the journey" to a nationwide network of interoperable EHRs that promote safety, quality, efficiency, and care coordination by asking providers to collect data electronically. Stage 2 builds on the current phase and starts to emphasize data sharing.

"The big message here is the push on standards-based interoperability of information," Mostashari said. "We are staying on course with the roadmap that we set in Stage 1."

A third and final stage of Meaningful Use is scheduled to begin in 2016. To date, CMS has paid out $6.6 billion in incentive money to about 3,600 hospitals and more than 128,000 individuals, Holland said.

InformationWeek Healthcare brought together eight top IT execs to discuss BYOD, Meaningful Use, accountable care, and other contentious issues. Also in the new, all-digital CIO Roundtable issue: Why use IT systems to help cut medical costs if physicians ignore the cost of the care they provide? (Free with registration.)

Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
How Enterprises Are Attacking the IT Security Enterprise
How Enterprises Are Attacking the IT Security Enterprise
To learn more about what organizations are doing to tackle attacks and threats we surveyed a group of 300 IT and infosec professionals to find out what their biggest IT security challenges are and what they're doing to defend against today's threats. Download the report to see what they're saying.
Register for InformationWeek Newsletters
White Papers
Current Issue
2017 State of IT Report
In today's technology-driven world, "innovation" has become a basic expectation. IT leaders are tasked with making technical magic, improving customer experience, and boosting the bottom line -- yet often without any increase to the IT budget. How are organizations striking the balance between new initiatives and cost control? Download our report to learn about the biggest challenges and how savvy IT executives are overcoming them.
Twitter Feed
Sponsored Live Streaming Video
Everything You've Been Told About Mobility Is Wrong
Attend this video symposium with Sean Wisdom, Global Director of Mobility Solutions, and learn about how you can harness powerful new products to mobilize your business potential.
Flash Poll